this much I know…

Since becoming a mom:

 – I am a better person…

 – I can love completely unconditionally…

 – I lost myself for a while but then realised that your child should be a part of your life not your whole life…

 – I will have a muffin top for the rest of my life…

 – I will never wear my Victoria Bekham jeans again in this lifetime…

 – and I don’t really care…

 – I will worry for the rest of my life…

 – I no longer have any “ME” time…

 – I hate temperatures and even after dealing with them for 3 years I still worry like crazy when Alessia has one…

 – I don’t moisturise enough…

 – I’m not the most important person in my life anymore…

 – I have an obsession with poo, the amount of it, the regularity of it, the lack of it…

 – My relationship will never be the same again…

 – Everytime I go out to buy clothes for me I come back with clothes for her…

 – I will never sit outside the pub on a Saturday afternoon and have a few spontaneous pints in the sunshine…

 – I will always put myself second…

 – I will always feel guilty…

 – I will wake up with a smile on my face every morning when I hear “good morning mammy”…

 – the house can stay a mess while we play outside or go to the park…

 – I feel so contented and want for nothing  (well except for another bambino/a)

 – I realize material things REALLY don’t matter…

 – I don’t want to expand the business as it will affect my work life balance and that is too important…

 – I feel so secure in the knowledge that this little bundle of pinkness adores and loves me like no one else on this earth! The big bundle of blueness loves me too but it’s different, just in case he reads this:)

 – I want everything to be perfect and am too hard on myself…

 – I have come into my own and am not defined by my job, success etc, I have nothing to prove just that I am the best mom that I can be…

 – that I’m not perfect and that’s ok…

 – I’ve chilled out a lot at work…

 – I’m at my happiest on a Sunday morning when the 3 of us are together…

 – that the first year of your first born will be one of the hardest years of your life…

 – that the internet saved my sanity in the first year…

 – that motherhood isn’t always easy…

 – my new found love of photography and finding beauty in everyday things to capture on film…

 – I have become more confident in myself…

 – I will never see the bottom of the laundry basket…

–  I will never sleep in until midday again…

 – I wonder will she ever sleep in her own bed for a full night…

 – I hate the terrible feeling I get everytime I leave her at creche…

 –  I love her so much it’s scares me…

 – I wonder how I will love another child…

 – I can’t remember what it was like not to be a mom…

ciaoxx

p.s. how have you changed?

2 thoughts on “this much I know…

  1. Every single item on your list I can hold my hand up to. I even kept a ‘poo diary’ on the side of the fridge and marked ‘DN’ for dirty nappy days. We’re all too hard on ourselves, there’s no too ways about it. I look at other mums who are so blase and wonder which is best?? – either way I don’t think we are doing too bad!!:)

  2. Sometimes I wonder, they mightn’t be behind it all! I think everyone goes through a similar experience on their first, some talk about it and some don’t? I have to talk about everything anyway and always talk too much so everyone always knows what’s going on with me:) That’s why I love blogging…

Leave a Reply

