Dear Alessia….

Dear Alessia….

I love the way:

 – you bring so much laughter and love into our house…

 – you are addicted to toothpaste and brushing your teeth and hope it lasts forever….

 – you love and adore me even if you won’t let me go to the toilet alone…

 – you are addicted to chocolate and would probably trade me for a piece if it came down to it…

 –  you go crazy when daddy tries to kiss you with his “hairy face”…

 – your eyes won’t close when it’s time to go to sleep and your teddy Muca’s snoring also keeps you awake and you genuinely believe this…

 – you have to wear “something pretty” everyday and have a heart attack when you have to wear a track suit to playschool…

 – you love to sleep in between me and daddy just to make sure no one else arrives and steals your thunder…

 – you love to brush my black tooth(my filling) but can never seem to get it clean…

 – your obsession with and naming your “triangle teeth” (the pointy ones in the front)…

 – you point blank refusal to eat any veg even though you could name every vegetable there is…

 – you can’t stand the strings on oranges and mandarins…

– you have high standards like your mother when you informed me after watching Beauty and the Beast that the prince was only a little bit handsome and his head was not as nice as the prince in Sleeping Beauty or Thumbelina…

 – you make me play Doctor for hours to the point I begin to worry about my mental health…

 – when I’m sick in bed there is no fear of me getting any sleep because you come up and down the stairs a hundred times to check on me and give me hugs and kisses…

 – you have more apps on my iphone than I do…

 – you are terrified of  hand dryers which causes toilet issues when ever we are out in public…

 – you are terrified of hair dryers which makes drying my hair a bit awkward…

 – you only like “expensive” ice-creams like Magnums…

 – you stuff your flake down your ice-cream cone and eat your 99 ice cream the same as your mammy…

 – you sing “chilly, chilly bang bang” even though I’ve told you it’s “chitty” a million times…

 – you have changed your daddy’s and my life so profoundly since the day you arrived even though you will never appreciate how much… 

love Mammy xxx

6 thoughts on “Dear Alessia….

  1. That is too precious I can barely speak. Tears rolling down my face at how intimate that is even though it’s really funny. I love her for all the same reasons and I miss her! Thanks for inspiring me to write something like this for my little prince charming. You are such a wonderful Mammy xxxx

    • Ahhh thanks Kat, I want to keep this blog like a little diary as I know all these little quirky things will be forgotten as she grows older. You should do 1 for Ethan too….

  2. This is very cute and something that she can treasure when she’s older. My 3 year old has some of the same habits, especially following me into the loo and fear of hand dryers. We cured the hair dryer fear on her first visit to have her hair cut (after many months of dodgy trimming by yours truly). Anyway, the lady started drying her hair and I frantically shouted “no, she doesn’t like that”. The hair cutter asked her if it was ok and she calmly nodded her head making me look like the neurotic nut!

    • haha, they make fools of us don’t they:) At least your hairdressing experience was positive, ours was a little less so. She screamed the place down a couple of months ago and wouldn’t let them near her with the hairdryer, they only barely managed the scissors and that her hair is all uneven. We haven’t been back since:) Don’t get me started on getting her passport photo done, I should actually post the pic I had to send in with her school application, they’ll take one look and stamp it “refused”…

      p.s. how did you find the blog?

      • When they realize that her mother is a famous and very witty blog writer they’ll overlook any dodgy photos. I found the blog through the Irish Times article on miscarriage. I agree with some others who say that you should write a book about your experience – if you can find the time. I just saw a really cute photo on the blog and it reminded me of my little one – peppa pig umbrella and hello kitty slippers!

  3. Ah thanks Marianne:) It’s funny that people think I should write a book because I obviously don’t see why, I suppose it’s like everything you are always your own worst critic! They are so cute aren’t they, we have hello kittly everything….

Leave a Reply

