food for kids….

I was talking to a mom in the shop yesterday and she was saying how she’d love to cook proper food for her kids instead of waffles, chicken dippers etc, she was asking me do I use any frozen or processed foods for Alessia and was genuinely surprised that I don’t and that I even make my own chicken goujons. She said she’d love to get cooking lessons if I would give them, I would love to but I just don’t have the time. I have a lot of recipes over on my food blog but I know it’s hard to search through them all so I thought I’d introduce a food section for the family on this blog.

The recipes will  have an Italian influence of course but I was thinking of starting with the basics and see how we get on from there, I will give step by step photos when I can and if you have any questions no matter how silly you think it is please just ask! It wasn’t so long ago that I wasn’t able to cook. The plan is to start with the following  and you can let me know if there is anything else you would love to know how to cook from scratch?

  • chicken dippers
  • fish fingers
  • bolognese
  • simple tomato sauce
  • tomato sauce with hidden veg (aubergines and courgettes)
  • chicken stew
  • beef stew
  • meatballs
  • pizza
  • baked pasta dishes
  • home-made burgers
  • bangers and mash
  • shepherd’s pie
  • variety of soups
  • different rice dishes with hidden veg
  • lasagna
  • cupcakes
  • chocolate chip cookies
  • scrambled eggs(my all time favourite fast food)
  • any other pasta dishes I can think of as we go along

I’ll start with “chicken dippers” today, this recipe is great as you are getting some cheese and herbs into them without them knowing. I always use free range chicken breasts and buy my breadcrumbs in the supermarket, if you want to use up stale bread by all means do but I’m too lazy:) This recipe is for 2 adults and 1 child so you can add more if you have more children! Alessia helps me make these, she cracks the eggs and dips the chicken in, it’s a bit messy but she enjoys it. I serve them with a sun-dried tomato or pesto mayo, we make our own in La Cucina but you could just use shop bought jars and mix with mayo. I usually serve them with parmesan mashed potatoes or home-made wedges…

what you need for 2 adults and 1 fussy toddler

 – 3/4 chicken breasts, I use free range.

 – breadcrumbs, I use the pre-made bag from Superquinn.

 – 2 beaten eggs

 – 2 sprigs rosemary, picked and finely chopped(optional, you can leave this out if you like)

 – 100g grated parmesan

 – sea salt and black pepper

 – olive oil

 – sun-dried tomato tapenade, Superquinn stock a fresh version.

 – mayo, I use a really good brand called Stokes which uses free range eggs etc etc ……… Hellman’s is fine too though!

what to do:

 – cut your chicken breasts into goujons and season with salt and pepper

 – fill a frying pan with lots of oil and heat

 – mix your breadcrumbs, Parmesan and rosemary together and season.

 – dip your chicken pieces into the egg and then the breadcrumbs and cook until golden brown over a low to medium heat, drain on kitchen paper.

 – mix your tapenade or pesto with your mayo.

 – serve, dip and enjoy!!!

Let me know if there is anything in particular you would like to know how to make from scratch….

ciao

Lxx

2 thoughts on “food for kids….

  1. Hi Lorraine, I used this receipe last nite and found it very easy (good thing), they were very tastey, if i do say so myself :-) Ava ate them all even though she said she wasnt hungry! only down fall was the washing up after!!! Why do home cooking have to generate so much washing up!!!!!! hehehe Looking forward to the next receipe…………

Leave a Reply

